Back Row (l-r) Alexa L. Sanchez, Elizabeth Ann Henry, Lacie Brooke Herrin. Front Row (l-r) Gary Cataldo, Chapter President, Sunmi Kim, Kassidy Blair, Thomas Kyle Dunn, Heather E. Orellana, Jack Gilchrist, Committee Chair
The Rotary Club of Austin - Southwest (formerly Austin - Oak Hill) presented eight $1000 scholarships at Thursday’s, June 8, 2017 awards luncheon hosted at DK Marias Restaurant.
The Rotary Club of Austin – Southwest firmly ascribes to the sentiment expressed by the South African leader Nelson Mandela “Education is the most powerful weapon you can use to change the world.” In over 19 years, 150+ scholastic and vocational students have benefited from the club’s ‘Lend A Hand’ scholarship program.
This year’s recipients are working adults, many with families. Fields of study at Austin Community College and Baldwin Beauty School include vocational nursing, occupational therapy, chemical dependency counseling, dental hygiene, cosmetology and diagnostic imaging radiology.  Theirs is a common theme of persistence and hard work, overcoming personal and systemic obstacles as they seek to better themselves and the lives of those close to them.
At the luncheon’s conclusion, club president, Gary Cataldo, left the awardees with these thoughts: ”Your scholarship is not a handout.  You earned it. It was earned by challenging yourself to improve your education, by excellence in scholarship, by having the self-confidence to put your accomplishments on an application and risking rejection.  As Rotarians, we see your scholarships less as gifts, and more as investments in people of promise. You are people whose efforts are transforming ‘potential’ into ‘measurable accomplishments.’  Our Rotarian challenge to you: As you have been helped, help others. In doing so, you will know the spirit that is Rotary.  Best wishes. Now, go out there and, keep making good luck. “
Organization: Rotary Club of Austin-Southwest
Contacts: Gary Cataldo, President   ( C) 512-786-6528 e-mail:
                 Beth Long, PR Chairperson ( C) 512-9146813 e-mail:
For more information contact: Jack Gilchrist, Scholarship Committee Chairperson
(H) 512-288-4945  e-mail: